What to Do if the Person Who Hits You Does Not Have a Valid Driver’s License

What to Do if the Person Who Hits You Does Not Have a Valid Driver’s License

While every motorist is required to carry a valid driver’s license, mistakes happen, and some drivers aren’t properly licensed. If you were involved in a car accident that was caused by an unlicensed driver, the steps forward are the same as they would be in any other car accident. If, however, you’ve been charged with driving without a license, seeking the skilled legal counsel of an experienced South Carolina criminal defense attorney is advised.

Taking the First Steps Forward after a Car Accident 

If you were in a car accident caused by a driver with no license, taking the following primary steps is always the best course of action:

While every car accident involves its own unique circumstances, protecting your health and seeking compensation that is adequate to your losses is key.

If You’re the Driver without a Valid License 

If you are accused of causing an accident and you don’t have a valid driver’s license, you could face a driving without a license charge, which is generally a misdemeanor that can carry fines of from $50 to $100 and jail time of up to 30 days – both of which are enhanced for a second offense.

If you never had a license, your fine may be increased. If, on the other hand, your license has expired, the charge of driving without it still applies, but proving renewal to the court within a week could lead to the charge and ticket being dismissed.

If your driver’s license was suspended or revoked, the matter is more serious, and the fines can increase to $300.

The Car Accident

Not having a valid driver’s license and being identified as the at-fault driver in a car accident leaves you more vulnerable to arrest at the scene. It’s important to note, however, that car accidents are not always cut-and-dried, and proving fault can be a challenging and time-consuming endeavor.

Consult with a Focused Criminal Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with driving without a license, and it’s compounded by a traffic accident that you’re accused of causing, the consequences are considerable. By consulting with a practiced criminal defense attorney early in the process, your chances of obtaining a favorable resolution improve significantly.

An Experienced South Carolina Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help

Driving without a license is against the law, but the outcome of your case will hinge on the unique circumstances involved and on your ability to build a strong defense. Craig Brown at The Law Office of D. Craig Brown is an accomplished South Carolina criminal defense attorney, and his decades of imposing experience leave him very well positioned to help you resolve this complex legal matter advantageously. For more information, please contact us online or call 843-676-0169 today.